The Index is currently in a pilot phase with comparative data available for 12 European countries: France, Germany, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, The Netherlands, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and Ukraine.

Countries were chosen based on the capacity of ENS Members to participate in the pilot as country experts and a desire to reflect a mix of countries with dedicated statelessness determination procedures, mechanisms to prevent and reduce statelessness, countries without, and countries in different sub-regions of Europe, with different legal systems. It is intended that the Index will be expanded from 2018 to include more countries.

Project funded by: